Department board

The Department Board is the department's hightest authority, with responsibility for setting the the department's main objectives, priorities and strategies. The current board is elected for 2009-2012.

Members of the board Deputy members
Bjørn Olav Utvik Head of Department / Chair  
Arild Engelsen Ruud Deputy Head of Department  
Ragnhild Rebne Secretary  
Mette Halskov Hansen Representantive academic staff Jens Braarvig, 1st deputy
Mark Teeuven Representantive academic staff Helge Jordheim, 2nd deputy
Line Esborg Representantive academic staff Anne Stensvold, 3rd deputy
Tine Gade Representantive temporary staff Eva Marie Håland
Monica Lund Haugom Representantive administration Hans Christoffer Tyldum
Kristin Bakken External representative Ellen Aslaksen
Ingrid Lamark Representantive students Hanne Linn Skogvang
Karl Erik Westergaard Representantive students Eirik Lysenstøen


About the board composition

The composition of the board is defined in UiOs general rules for institute organization, (Norwegian only). Based on these rules, the board is made up of the head of department (chairman), three representatives for the academic staff, one for the temporary academic staff, one for the administrative staff, one external reprenstative an one student representative. The head of research sits with and holds the right to speak and make suggestions to the board, but he does not take part in decisions. He is also deputy head of department and acts as chairman of the board in the absence of the head of department.

The head of department is employed on a four year term and representatives for the academic staff is elected for four years. Representatives for temporary staff and students are elected for one year at a time. Secretary for the board is head of administration at the department.

Published Oct. 11, 2012 3:03 PM - Last modified Apr. 16, 2015 2:17 PM