Norwegian version of this page

Election of the Dean of the Faculty of Humanities

Frode Helland is elected to the office of Dean of the Faculty of Humanities 2019-2022.

Election Result

Helland won with 66,75 % of the weighted votes.

901 ballotts were casted, of which 22 blanks. The support for Helland is a large majority among academic staff and students, whereas the ballotts from the technical-administrative staff is evenly distributed between the candidates.

62,38 % of the academic staff voted, 73,68 % of the technical-administrative staff and 5,59 % of the students.


Any complaints must be sent to the Election Board within 14 November.


Within the deadline for nominating candidates, 1 October 2018 at 14:00, the election board received 2 nominations:

More information about the candidates, the list of nominators and their election programmes can be found by following the links above. 

The web forum where where employees and students were invited to send questions to the candidates is now closed.

On 18. October there was a debate between the candidates, at 14.15-16.00, aud. 7 Eilert Sundts building.

Election procedure

The following staff and students hold the right to vote: 

  • Staff in at least 50 % position and Professor II at the faculty employed at the day of voting. The Election Board has decided that Associate Professor II and University Lecturer II shall be given the right to vote equivalent of Professor II.
  • Students registered at HF for the autumn term 2018.

The election is held in three electoral groups: (1) scientific staff, (2) technical and administrative staff (3) students.

The votes are counted separately for each group and are weighted as follows:

  • Scientific staff: 53 %
  • Administrative staff: 22 %
  • Students: 25 %

The election is conducted electronically.

    Election committee

    The faculty’s election board is responsible for implementation of the election. The election board is also functioning as election commitee.

    Tags: Election, Dean, Faculty of Humanities
    Published Oct. 6, 2016 1:42 PM - Last modified Feb. 6, 2020 2:14 PM