Norwegian version of this page

Department Board

The Department Board is the Department's highest authority, with the responsibility of setting the Department's main objectives, priorities and strategies. The current board is elected for the period 2021-2024

Members of the Board
Head of Department (Chair of the Board)  
Academic Staff Deputies
Yngvar Kjus (1st deputy)
Åshild Watne (2nd deputy)
Temporary Academic Staff  (2020) Deputies
Cagri Erdem
Dongho Daniel Kwak (1st deputy)
Administrative Staff  Deputies
Ingrid Stange Ytterstad
Students (2020) Deputies

Eivind Knapper

Jonas Ulleland


 Jørn Hansen (1st deputy)

No second deputy due to lack of candidates

External Representative  Deputy
Bente Johnsrud, Oslo International Church Music Festival, Festival Director and Artistic Leader Richard Gjems, Nastional Library of Norway, Head of Music Section

Board composition

The composition of the board is defined by general organisational rules for the departments of the University of Oslo (available in Norwegian only). In compliance with these rules, the board comprises:
  • the Head of Department (Chair of the Board)
  • three representatives for academic staff
  • one representative for temporary academic staff
  • one representative for administrative staff
  • two student representatives
  • one external representative
The Head of Research attends board meetings and reserves the right to make proposals, but is not involved in decision-making. However, as Deputy Head of Department, the Head of Research assumes the role of Chairman of the Board in the absence of the Head of Department.

The Head of Department and academic staff representatives serve four-year terms. Temporary staff and student representatives are elected for a one-year term. The Secretary for the Board is the Head of Administration at the Department.
Published Nov. 27, 2012 2:34 PM - Last modified Aug. 3, 2021 12:12 PM